A Few of my Favorite Things – Solo Dining

We all have things we like, heck some of us have more than others. I like wine, shoes, long conversations with my friends, reading a good book on a rainy afternoon, Netflixing to death. The list is endless.

One of my absolute favorite things is dining out. I like the preparation, checking the weather, menu and  the navigability of the restaurant(yes!!, I believe in using apps like Zomato to get the details on where I am going, I like surprises but I am not trying to shiver through a three course meal).

I like the ambiance in restaurants, people watching, the motion and at times commotion as the staff flutter about trying to cater to diners every need, the mixture of parfum and cigarette smoke (alas this shall soon be a thing of the past).

IMG_20151030_135311
#myfavouritethings – Hyde Park Pool Deck – Prawn Salad

However I believe surely in this day and age it should be perfectly acceptable for a woman to dine by herself. Yes I am married, yes I have friends, yes I have colleagues but sometimes maybe they are just not available for that day. Should I sit at home in my PJs then?

Why am I treated  less humanely because I choose to sit alone. Dirty looks from women dining with their men because clearly I am hunting, dirty looks from females out with girlfriends, rather lets call these pity looks, winks, kisses and the occasional saunter over from the gang of guys, because again clearly I came out because I want the attention or  I look lonely.

Get over yourselves, I like to dine out  alone at times, its not a crime.

Olga_S2 047
#myfavouritethings – Mekka Borrowdale Village Harare – Sushi Sunday

 

2 thoughts on “A Few of my Favorite Things – Solo Dining

  1. Howdy! This blog post couldn’t be written any better!

    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept talking about this. I will send this article to him.

    Fairly certain he will have a great read.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

